Embarking on the Teething Journey: Part 1

So it is official…our little one has been teething for a few weeks and it hasn’t been pretty.  Flushed cheeks, ear rubbing, drooling, disrupted nights and hand sucking have been her daily routine.

It is actually quite funny to see her try to put all her fingers in her mouth at once — but I feel for her. It hasn’t been that long since my wisdom teeth have popped out and I clearly remember the pain.

We have been trying different things:

Hazel-wood necklace: I was using it for reflux until a nurse at the Public Health told me it was very dangerous and although I trust myself at knowing what is good or bad for my daughter I was never able to use it again…but I recently read that putting it around her ankle with a sock on would do the job just as well so I might try again tonight.

Hazelwood acts to balance the body’s pH levels  turning acidic pH levels into alkaline levels. The way it works is the hazelwood actually absorbs the extra acid and while it does, the wood gradually turns a darker brown color. In order for the body to be at it’s best healing level, it should be slightly more alkaline. When your body is higher in acidic pH, you are susceptible to more illnesses and pains. By helping it be more alkaline, it is better able to filter out toxins and help the immune system combat any illnesses.                    

These necklaces have been used to relieve and soothe the following health conditions: teething, gastric reflux, heartburn, skin problems, arthritis, cavities, migraines,constipation or babies suffering with the aches and pains of teething, as well as eczema and diaper rashes.

Camilia teething by Boiron: A friend of mine recommended it, and I was very happy to use a more natural medicine to soothe our baby. Unfortunately, she hates it so much that it will make her gag and will eventually throw up. I am not sure why as it is supposedly “neutral-tasting” but again I haven’t tried it myself.

“Camilia® relieves symptoms of teething. Developed specifically for babies and toddlers aged 1 to 30 months, Camilia® is made with sterile water and contains no sugar, no colouring and no preservatives. It does not interact with other medicines and has no side effects. Camilia® is neutral-tasting and comes packaged in sterile, drinkable and unbreakable unit-doses, making it an easy-to-administer, safe and fast-acting way of soothing teething woes. With Camilia®, your baby will be smiling again in no time – and so will you!”

So we went and bought some:

Tylenol which is supposed to soothe quicker than

Advil which lasts longer

and we have been giving her Tylenol during the day and Advil before bedtime and it seems to help a lot.

– I have also tried giving her a wet cold cloth to chew/suck on but she doesn’t really seem to get it.

– A friend of mine who has two little girls suggested I give her cold milk whenever I felt necessary and it seems to soothe her gum really well.

Teething ring:  when my baby was born a friend sent me a list of thing she thought had been very useful/helpful for her boys and I decided to get the http://www.bynature.ca/baby-toothbrush.html  she recommended. I bought in pink and I love it. I use it as a teething ring at the moment but I think it is great to help children get used to the routine of teeth brushing at an early age.

Plus, it is: “ free of plastic, BPA, PVC and Phalthates (and) pediatric dentists recommend cleaning your baby’s gums even before the first tooth appears. This first toothbrush cleans teeth and massages tender gums to help remove sugars and bacteria that can lead to future decay. 100% silicone chewing type toothbrush is recommended for age 4 months and up.

Despite all these, she is still pretty irritable due to lack of sleep and so are we but I have to say that I am very lucky to be married to a great husband who sacrifices his sleep for me.

Please share with us your awesome tips on how to make teething a better journey for baby in your comment.  Thank you !

Comments

  1. ah i actually gave this present to few babies around: it’s a nice sheep teether made of natural (FSC Certified) wood (and they plant a tree for every toy sold!)
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/62630853/sheep-wooden-teether-wooden-toy-baby-toy
    I always thought it was cute + useful + you can turn it into a “rond de serviette” when she gets older 😉

    I used to use a great teether when I was a nanny that you could put in the fridge so cold soothed the pain! (like this: http://www.myorganicbabystore.com/Fruit-Cool-Soothing-Teether-p/gs%20242340.htm)

    xx

    • Thank you Marine for contributing to this post.
      Those two teethers seem great and I would love to try them with my daughter. Organic and affordable ! I love it ! 🙂 x

  2. Je découvre ton blog grâce au wordpress reader et je crois que je vais passer un peu de temps à le lire! 😉 nous aussi avons une petite puce (septembre 2011) qui sera billingue (le papa est italien). Je suis aussi une adepte de montessori pour un autre point commun. Je voulais juste laisser un message au sujet de ce collier en bois de noisetier et ambre : j’ai eu aussi peur que ma fille s’étrangle avec au début et puis à ses 5 mois, je lui ai laissé tout le temps…elle a 13 mois aujourd’hui et 12 dents! je ne sais pas ce que sait qu’un bébé qui “fait ses dents”…vu que je ne m’apercevais même pas qu’elles poussaient!! Je vais continuer ma lecture 😉

    • Sixtine and The Little Things says:

      Merci pour ta visite et tous tes commentaires interessants.
      J’ai lu que le collier avait une date de fin et qu’il etait preferable de le changer apres trois mois car une fois qu’il avait absorbe toute l’adicidite, il ne fonctionnait pas aussi bien mais ton experience demontre le contraire (ou peut-etre que ta fille supporte la poussee dentaire mieux que d’autres enfants). J’ai fini par lui acheter un collier d’ambre quand elle a eu 5 mois car la poussee d’une de ses dents lui a fait tellement mal qu’elle a mal dormi pendant une semaine et pleurait tout le temps. Ca ne s’est pas reproduit – et bien entendu, je ne lui ai jamais enleve son collier. 🙂

      • amoremiobello says:

        C’est bon de le savoir! Je vais alors en racheter un car il est trop précieux! 😉

Leave a reply.

