Random Short Story: The (Scary) Baby Monitor

“A baby monitor, also known as a baby alarm, is a radio system used to remotely listen to sounds made by an infant.”

I went to dinner to my sister-in-law last night and we got home just in time for bed. Once she was ready for bed, I kissed her goodnight, told her how much I loved her and closed the door.

I went to bed a couple hours later, turned on the baby monitor (Safety 1st) and started reading. It was pretty quiet but I didn’t think too much of it.

A few minutes later, I heard a : “ahhhhhh…..”. My heart stopped.

This was not my child’s voice.

Then I heard music. Again, my daughter doesn’t have any electronic devices in her bed.

Only to realize that my daughter’s monitor wasn’t on and that I was actually listening to the neighbor’s baby. Again.

I don’t know what it is about these baby monitors but I don’t like them – I am always expecting to hear something I shouldn’t. I was talking on the phone to my sister the other day and she said she would never get one. I asked her why. Her answer: “What if I heard a guy’s voice?” I thought she was being ridiculous. But I also thought it was creepy.

Now, I think about it all the time.

Talking about crazy, about two weeks ago, my baby cried like someone was attacking her so I ran to her room with a wooden board. There was no one there.

The End

Comments

  1. We used to be able to pick up police scanners in our old neighborhood. We couldn’t hear our baby crying, but we knew that there was a drug bust in the neighborhood.

    We quit using a monitor when we realized our middle son was using it to spy on us.

  2. Scary!…. Throw it away!

  3. Those things cause you to loose sleep, as well. Every snort or catch in breath, I’d open my eyes and listen. My first born was a noisy sleeper. He cooed and he snorted and he often went off beat with his breathing (so I immediately thought he stopped breathing, but it would just “catch”) Finally, we deterimined we were worse off with little sleep and could get nothing done running back and forth to the room. Besides, he began to wake and then he knew to start making noise to get us to come running…you don’t want to start that- trust me.

    Those monitors are known to pick up other stuff in neighboring homes. Ours had 2 different frequencies (X/Y) and so we’d switch. One was more static-ey than the other.

    Anway, we only actively used the monitor the first 6 months. By our 2nd child,we’d only use if we were outside during naptime to hear when she woke.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    • Thank you for your comment Sandi. It makes me feel a bit better. I wanted to ask at the end of this post if it would be OK to turn it off. I feel guilty about it but really, just like you said, it is very disrupting. Besides, her room is right next to ours. So really, when she cries, I can hear her both on the scary device (baby monitor) and without. But she has reflux and I am scared that she might choke without me knowing… The title of my post should have been: Is it OK to turn it off?

Leave a reply.

