10 Reasons Why You Should Marry a Foreigner (Like I Did) by Corey Heller

I have recently discovered the Multilingual Living website and I am hooked already. The author of the blog, Corey Heller, wrote this post:  10 Reasons Why You Should Marry a Foreigner (Like I Did) and I thought I would write my own version here. For those who haven’t read my mini-about me section, I am French and my husband is Canadian English (or I should say Canadian Irish !). We met in Reykjavik, Iceland in 2008 while traveling. He was traveling in Europe and I was traveling in the Nordic countries ! Our relationship is so rich from sharing different cultures and languages. It brings back so many nice memories just writing about it.

  • 10. He had me at “Hello”. There is a little “je-ne-sais-quoi” about foreigners. When I heard him speak for the first time, I was so charmed by his accent. The Canadian accent is so clear, sounds like water.
  • 9. His looks. Foreigners look different in a good way. He had this big white smile, this cute Canadian flagged hat on his head, and those muscles.
  • 8. Different traditions. I used to watch Friends a lot when I was younger. In fact, I knew pretty much the whole script (you never know, they may have needed extras on the show) and demanded my mother cook a Thanksgiving dinner on Christmas eve. On top of our regular Christmas dinner. I would have celebrated Hanukkah (like Ross & Monica) had I known how they did it. I actually love Jewish cooking (their bread is to die for!) Anyways, I am deviating from the topic here. My first Thanksgiving here was very special.
  • 7. Learning or perfecting languages. My husband doesn’t speak much French but he is keen to learn which is a good start. My parents’ English is a little rusty (to be nice) but they try really hard to communicate with my husband and his family.
  • 6. Traveling. I agree with Corey. It is part of your life when you are a bilingual (trilingual, polyglot) family. You take the time, the money to visit your loved ones.
  • 5. The little things. My Canadian husband makes me pancakes with maple syrup every Saturday morning. They are to die for. And it adds to the long list of the reason why I love him. He loves my French crepes. And I will be making some today to celebrate Mardi gras – it was yesterday but he was away for work. I also love shmores (marshmallow, Graham crackers and chocolate in a sandwich melted over a fire), and many other Canadian things I had never heard about before we met.
  • 4. Bilingual child(ren). It is a blessing for them to benefit from both parents heritage.
  • 3. True clichés. Canadians are laid-back, friendly people. It is true. Especially here in Prince Edward Island. His family and friends are so adorable.
  • 2. Our child is beautiful.
  • 1. Love.  ” …transform(ed) you stranger into a lover from far away.” Matt Mays

What are YOUR reasons? Where and how did you meet your foreign other half?

Comments

  1. I agree with most of what you say! I am right now in Slovakia because my girlfriend is living there.
    Being abroad and experiencing new customs, cultures and languages makes you feel alive 🙂

  2. You make a wonderful family!

  3. I totally agree. I moved to Canada 3 years ago from England and ended up marrying my wonderful Canadian husband. I couldn’t be happier!

Leave a reply.

