Random Short Story: Some People’s Comments

“You are not suffering from lack of sleep then !” Some people are just so unthoughtful ! How would you feel if a nurse told you you weren’t suffering from lack of sleep because your baby slept through the night?! I know some people are worse off but I have been feeling exhausted, physically and mentally, and that is the last thing I want to hear right now…that I shouldn’t be tired  because my daughter sleeps at night. She does sleep. But she doesn’t sleep 24/7 !! And there are plenty other things a new mum has to adjust to and actually do during the day. I am really upset that she would just say that although I am sure she meant well but still. I have just been very sensitive on people’s comments about everything-parenting. Whether it’s “she’s using a pacifier already???”, or a “you are not breastfeeding anymore !”, I really don’t see the point. And I don’t like that.

Comments

  1. People really Can be clueless sometimes…But a Nurse!? I’d expect a bit more sympathy from a Nurse…they should know…As for “you are not breastfeeding anymore?” or “shes using a pacifier already” type of comments.Try to brush them off…and say” Yes! Got a problem w that!?” I know it’s easier said than done…but they are being rude for assuming Everyone should do things the same way!

  2. Aw yes, suddenly when you become a mum, everyone starts thinking they can pass comment (not to mention judgement). My daughter has always been a good sleeper – though not so this last month, thanks to separation anxiety from starting a few hours of nursery 😦 ) – but I still spent many months wondering round in a stupor – probably still do, but that’s another story.

    The best / worst comment I got from a nurse was when she went into the transitional care unit from the NICU unit, a few days after she was born. She was in because she almost died at birth. Anyway, this nurse, at around 3am in the morning, when I’d been up non-stop with my baby, complete with monitor beeping on her every couple of minutes, decided to regale me with tales of how her son had been a difficult birth and how as a result he had learning difficulties. Just what I needed to hear. Anyway, that was her son, my daughter couldn’t be any brighter if she tried – even if I do say so myself!

    So, in short. Ignore the lot of them. Do your own thing and block your ears to anyone who tells you anything different!

    • I am going to have to work on that. There are so many mixed messages on how to care for baby/parenting that I find it hard to be confident in some of the choices I make. I make them because they feel right but you never know…It is a lot of pressure to be a parent, I really don’t need other people’s judgement or unwanted comments.

      I can’t believe that nurse ! Who wants to hear that? Good on you proving her wrong! Thank you for sharing.

  3. tinystepsbigjourney says:

    In my mummy group we have a saying. Share don’t compare. But everyone has to give their two cents. I just smile and nod, and say I’ll take it under advisement. And then curse them once they are gone

  4. I’m so sorry. What an unprofessional nurse, and what a nasty thing to say to ANY mom!

  5. ah! the lovely comments from complete strangers, but also professionals… I now nod, smile, and do what I know or believe is right for my daughter.
    Take it with a pinch of salt, and make sure you bitch about it with your girlfriends over cake and tea (cake being essential, tea not so much ;))

  6. I always believe in following your instincts, you are a mummy and that is what you are designed to do. We all have to learn and we learn but we do not need constant guidance from individuals who feel they know best. Don’t kick yourself over this too much, if I had a pound for every time someone offered me some ‘friendly’ advise I would be one very rich lady….keep smiling, enjoy your little one and enjoy being a mother its empowering and a wonderful thing that you have done….well done, now hug yourself, much love xxx

  7. I get this a lot too… I just smile, nod, then keep doing things the way they work best for us. Another great one is when you’re out and my little guy is crying and people come up and say “awwww poor baby! Is mommy being mean to you?” It drives me crazy!

  8. It is easy to say “you shouldn’t” or “you’re not doing that” when you are not taking care of a 4 months old baby! You have the right to be tired, you look after her all day long 😉

  9. I love the saying – share don’t compare, well said! As moms, we do the very best we can and we end up doubting ourselves because of others comments – judgmental and critical sometimes! You know you are doing your very best and you love your baby girl with all your heart – and at the end of the day, that’s what counts! I hope you know I certainly recognize that you are a brilliant loving mummy! We love you and Sixtine!

  10. Some people are so insensitive! Although I am not a Mom yet (only 9 days to go) I have recently experienced a know it all nurse similar to yours. I was told on Monday that my contractions couldn’t hurt one big because I was still smiling! How she could possibly tell this I have no idea! I am a smiley person! Agh!

Leave a reply.

