Infant Stimulation: Early Education

Sixtine and I have been doing Maths this week. I know. She is four months old. But it is never too early to learn. My little girl loves looking at new things, and interacting with me and a few flashcards. The excitement she gets from it is priceless – she will move her arms and legs, and smile like she is having the time of her life.

I showed her numbers from 1 to 20, and she looked at each little dots or mini flowers with great interest, noticing, or I like to think so, the difference between each card. We also counted mummy’s fingers, and sang a French song called 1, 2, 3, nous irons aux bois which teaches children how to count up to twelve.

I also changed the scenery around her changing table – I printed and laminated 5 paintings from well-known artist such as Renoir, and Leonardo Da Vinci (Sunflowers, Mona Lisa…) and she noticed the difference right away ! She seems to enjoy Mona Lisa more than any of the other paintings but babies love human faces so nothing surprising here.

I recently moved her mat in front of a mirror so she can look at herself and be aware of her movements. She absolutely loves it. I added a few birds, and butterflies pictures and she seems to enjoy them as well. It seems to help a lot with tummy time (she’s not a big fan but enjoys it more when she can see herself in the mirror.) It is too funny to see her lift her bum up and push on her leg to move around. I find it much easier for her to do so when she is wearing very few clothes on. I need to get her leg warmers…any suggestions? It is kinda cold here in Atlantic Canada.

She has lots of fun seeing the world from the top of that big stability/exercise ball I got for her. I borrowed a similar one at the end of my pregnancy thinking it would induce labor. I don’t know if it was a coincidence but my water broke at 2.30am that night ! Ahh…memories !

We also did a lot of singing and dancing this week. We sang in French, English and even Spanish (although I don’t speak this language).

Between Doman, Montessori, and other methods of learning I am interested in, we definitely have things to entertain ourselves with. I love to see how thirsty for knowledge she is – she learns so fast ! I can’t believe how great she’s getting at coordinating her movements to take her bottle or soother out or in of her mouth !

I am looking to buy a few toys for the baby and all I want to say is: Long live Etsy for great handmade toys, ideas and resource ! If you check out my Pinterest profile (I just started it) you will see my long list of wants for the baby ! Although I know everyday items work just as fine – I have been wanting to get her a Gobbi mobile, a baby rattle, a teether and a couple wooden toys (other than her hairbrush !).

Any other suggestions?

Comments

  1. Yay for shopping on Etsy!

  2. Etsyyyyy for baby leg warmers too 🙂 http://www.etsy.com/listing/85441375/gray-baby-legs-leg-warmers-arm-warmers

    i just followed you on Pinterest, mine is http://pinterest.com/capucinenski/

    xx

  3. Awesome! It makes me so excited to hear all the stuff you’re doing, it’s all the stuff I did with mine! I wish you were around when mine were little babies! I didn’t know anyone doing the same things! No one understands! I do know of one blog I liked to check all the time. You’d need to look back in the archives because her youngest is 2 now. It’s called Doman Inspired Parenting.

  4. I love the mirror idea. She is proably totally adorable watching herself and getting strong with her tummy time.

  5. Babies love mirrors. We have several shatterproof ones that we’ve put along the baseboards as each of our four has begun to crawl. Story time is nearly a sacrament around here — and has been since (literally) the day our oldest was born, so I know that look of wonder you’re seeing on your darling’s face. Isn’t it grand?

Leave a reply.

