“Your body is not ruined. You are a goddamn tiger who’s earned her stripes.”

I want my pre-pregnancy sexy back. Please? I’ll be a good girl. I didn’t gain much weight when I was pregnant, in fact, I lost a little over 10 pounds during the first couple months (LOVED IT) and there would be months without a single pound gained. I wasn’t dieting or anything. I just didn’t. After the baby’s birth, I lost all my baby weight pretty fast. I should be happy about that but not entirely. Let me explain. My body is completely different now. The whole package. So even though the weight is gone, I am not happy with what I have got yet. I need time to adjust to this new body of mine, just like I need time to adjust to this new life. The clothes I used to wear don’t appeal to me as much because they don’t match with the new me and I think I should look into that. It is only been four months and I hear that it takes about a year for your body to fully recover from pregnancy and delivery. Time will tell…

Comments

  1. Regarding body issues after giving birth…I can so relate…and now I have a third on the way. Sigh. I think it took me ten months after my first one before I even started to feel anything like my previous self again. Walking a lot helped as did doing yoga, qigong and just general running around. Something to tone the abdominal muscles is key when you feel up to it or have more time. And kegels! Both of which I neglected for quite a while and only just started working on! Clothes never really ever fit the same even though I also went down to pre-pregnancy weight each time. Nice flowy A-frames dresses and empire waists seem to look best on me since giving birth. And the stretch marks/stripes. Ah…lucky are those who manage to avoid these! But they do fade with time. Everything changes, but it’s all worth it.

  2. I totally get you. I’m still 5kg more than my pre-pregnancy weight and the majority of the clothes I wore before are now unsuitable. I also can’t wear my high heels because I only wore flats during the pregnancy and I look like an idiot wobbling around in them lol.

  3. I have not even had the baby yet and I am so with you! I have gained a fair amount of weight (nothing crazy) but I hate how my body feels and know that it is going to be a long road to getting back to where I once was.
    Just think though – your body did the most incredible thing possible – it created another human being. That is pretty freaking awesome and worth the changes to your body!

  4. My bubba is 7 months old and im still not back to my Pre pregnancy weight, they say it can take 18 months for your body to feel pretty much normal again. I still have my Pre mummy clothes prior to having my eldest 9 years ago, I would never wear them again but I just can’t seem to bring myself to throw them away.

  5. mommysaidaswearword says:

    Ugh, it is a twisted ride, motherhood!!! I was so disgusted, I tossed out all of my pre-pregnancy clothing that didn’t suit me any longer. It made it much easier for me to get dressed and feel sexy when I wasn’t trying to push or prod anything back to its pre-birth glory. It sucks.. It does get better, though. It truly does. Pilates worked wonders for me…but it didn’t fix my skin, lol.

  6. Both my wife and I have had a bit of a time adjusting to what was two babies in fairly rapid succession for us. While some of our friends were quite concerned with getting their pre-baby bod back, my wife (thankfully) just focused on the health of the kids, knowing that there’d be a better time to work on us again. But now that #2 is starting to wean off of nursing, and the spring is rapidly approaching, I sense we’re finally going to be able to have some time to work on us again. Bike trailer here we come! 🙂

  7. Tu es une femme magnifique Bibie, j’adore ta citation

  8. I had twins the first time with a combined weight of 11.5 lbs and then a singleton that was 10.5 lbs. I was 103 pounds before having kids and let me just say…I now have a cup holder where my bellybutton used to be! ha ha ha! I am not below surgery as exercise has never helped it. I am turning 40 this year and I tell my husband that I would like a “bellybutton restoration” to celebrate!

Trackbacks

  1. […] “Your body is not ruined. You are a god-damned tiger who earned his stripes.” (miniskirtandspittingup.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a reply.

