Random Short Story: Strangers Touching Your Baby

People can’t keep their hands to themselves.

Sixtine and I were out grocery shopping this afternoon. After a little while, she got a little cranky from being tired and all that, and started crying. We were almost done and as I was looking away, I noticed the baby had stopped crying. A Chinese lady was entertaining her with a flower. There was no harm in doing so (it was nice of her and she probably meant well) but when I tried to make eye contact with her (basically, I just wanted to smile and go) she ignored me. I was going to leave but her cart was blocking my way. She was with her husband and seemed to have all kind of things to tell him in their language that I don’t understand while HOLDING MY baby’s foot. She never paid attention to me. And I pretty much had to force my way away.

Like. Seriously. HI ! DO YOU MIND?

People.

I should have said something but I was pretty astonished at her ignorance skills. She seemed amazed by Sixtine. Not sure why and what she was saying to her husband but anyways, didn’t like that one !

Comments

  1. That’s annoying! It’s worse if it’s the babies hand they’re holding. Yuck, germs!!! I think I used to keep those scratch mittens on mine till they didn’t fit anymore, just so people couldn’t touch their hands all the time!

  2. Whilst in a shopping queue, someone once sneezed, wiped their nose and then stroked my daughter’s hair!! “get your filthy germs away from child!”…rancid! I feel your pain…

  3. The nerve of some people! I used to hate strangers touching my pregnant belly – I’d be livid if someone I didn’t know that well touched my baby!

  4. tinystepsbigjourney says:

    I would say at least once every time we are out, someone touches the wee one. And why o why must they always touch her face. Back off.
    I must get a button made that says please don’t touch me. Or my mum will hit you!

  5. That drives me nuts, too. It gets even worse when the wee ones get to be about 9 months old and develop stranger anxiety, so they scream when a stranger gets too close. Then, not only do these (I’m sure) well-intentioned souls try to touch my babies, they then offer helpful comments like, “Not very friendly, is she?” ARGH!

    • Haha ! I get that as well at times “she is so serious” ! I think she is just like me, she observes people before warming up to them. And you know what, she is scared of older, bigger ladies, with glasses. She got her needles a few weeks ago and since then, she cried every time she sees one ! Oopsie !

Leave a reply.

