Operating System Not Found

Have you ever heard of the Push present?  

A push present (also known as a “push gift” or “baby bauble”) is a present a new father gives a new mother when she gives birth to their child. In practice the present may be given before or after the birth, or even in the delivery room. The giving of push presents has supposedly grown in the United States in recent years.

My husband offered me a pink computer a little before the baby’s birth. It died a few days ago. It is only been 6 months and it is dead. I was typing when a sudden, heart-breaking “Operating System Not Found” appeared on the screen. I was very upset but definitely not as upset as I was today when I got a phone call saying that my datas were GONE. FOREVER. 5 months of my baby’s life in pictures is gone. Resumes, and other important documents are gone as well. You might be thinking: “She should have saved them somewhere .” Well, I wanted to and I thought about it often but I didn’t. My data traveller was full. So here we are. I will confess that I cried. And this is still a very sensitive subject. But I am secretely hoping that I will be able to get my datas back someday, somehow.

Comments

  1. Patricia says:

    We had the same tragedy with my cell phone a few months ago… Lost the first 3 months of Marty’s life in pictures… I cried, a lot. I back it all up on photobucket now, and plan periodic printouts and CD purchases!

  2. I understand your pain. It happened to me a few years ago. I lost everything: all my pictures, my documents, school and uni presentations, etc… Now I save EVERYTHING! You’ll get over it, somehow…but I understand that it must be painful not to have any pictures of your daughter’s first 5 months 😦

    Courage! And what a lovely push present from your husband! 🙂

  3. Oh no 😦 I actually got really upset for you when I read this. I hope you get someone to help you retrieve your lost images soon x

  4. Fingers crossed that you can. Photos are so precious. x

  5. OH NO!!! I’m SO sorry! Don’t beat yourself up for not saving the pictures elsewhere. You are a new mum! You have better things to do and not enough hours in the day!

  6. If I remember well I’ve been told that you can get everything back for 1000 or 2000 euros …

  7. MommaExpat says:

    Geez girl, that is horrible! I hope that by some small miracle you can get some of it back. Maybe contact family who might have some pictures you could have?

  8. Oh, gosh . . . Is there a local computer technician who might be able to recover the contents of your hard drive?

  9. I’m sorry to hear that. I also ever like you.

  10. Oh I feel for you, I really do! I lost my daughters 2nd birthday pics when my iPhone crashed and cried too! I do hope you can recover them somehow!

  11. Thank you ladies for your support… I am still hoping that something may be done !

  12. … …. …. This is horrible… … … 😦
    Datas are never lost. They are still there somewhere on your computer: you just need the right computer geek person to find them. 🙂 (maybe some money too :-S )
    You have at least all the pictures you put on the blog. And maybe pictures you emailed your family or friends? 🙂
    xxxx

Leave a reply.

