Vaccinate Or Not Vaccinate Your Baby. Discuss.

In Canada, in their first year, babies get vaccinated at 2, 4 and 6 and 12 months old. Sixtine was vaccinated at 2 and 4 months. She is now 6 months and a half and haven’t had her 6 months’ vaccines. We are presently staying in France and because the French don’t vaccine babies at the exact same times, I have decided to postpone her 6 months’ vaccination to our going back to Canada. She will be 9 months by then.

Now, I have been trying to raise my daughter as bio-tiful as possible since she was born and I have been wondering if she should be getting the next vaccination. What bothers me the most about vaccines are the fact that they contain toxic additives and heavy metals. On the other hand, I would be very worried about my daughter getting any of the diseases prevented by the vaccines.

To be sincerely honest, I think I will take her to her next vaccines because I wouldn’t feel good not doing it and at the end of the day, it is about feeling happy with the parenting choices you make, but I wanted to share this to hear from other parents on the subject.

Thank you for sharing.

Comments

  1. I’ve read a tiny bit about the subject of vaccines and I do think it’s irresponsible to not vaccinate a child against the important stuff – hepatitis, measles, etc but I also think it’s just as important to discuss the amount of vaccinations with your doctor and decide what is important and what isn’t. I’ve read about two or three cases in the States where the child was not vaccinated and came down with the disease and either died or wound up with severe disabilities, granted these were severe cases and rare, but if something like is preventable then it should be prevented. On the other hand, I’m not up on the latest vaccines offered but I’ve heard there are more out there than ever before, which can be both alarming and overwhelming. So basically, I think it doesn’t have to be black or white, but parents need to choose and be informed.

  2. mymyblue says:

    I’m all for vaccinations. I know all the things that are said about them on the internet and maybe some of them are true. But there is one fact we cannot deny: vaccinations save you baby’s life. Some parents decide not to vaccinate their baby and their justification is sometimes “but the disease hardly exists anymore”, I only have one response to that : “the disease hardly exists anymore BECAUSE we vaccinate babies.” 🙂

  3. I’ve read all the horror stories about vaccines, and then I’ve read the actual, verified studies. I’ve also taught children with autism, and I’ve gone around the block collecting money to help our neighbors, who immigrated here from South America, bury their unvaccinated toddler who died from pertussis. My kids are vaccinated, and will continue to be. Some of my friends have deviated from the recommended schedule because they have wee ones who swell badly at the injection site, but we’re all in agreement that we would rather take the chance on a mild fever or brief discomfort than have to bury a child because of an entirely preventable childhood illness. I apologize for my bluntness, but standing at Zara’s grave four years ago made me very blunt on this topic. I apologize if I’ve given offense. –Kelly

    • You don’t have to apologize. Thank you for sharing Kelly.
      I don’t feel comfortable with the thought of not vaccinating her despite the fact that I am not happy with what vaccines contain. I wanted to hear everyone’s perspective. Sorry to hear you had to go through a little girl’s death.

  4. I got my kids all the vaccinations in the first year and just tried not to think about the bad additives. But I delay the MMR till 3 years old, just in case it does cause problems. That’s my compromise I feel comfortable with!

  5. mrsdressup says:

    It isn’t also your children you have to think about, but there are children for whatever reason – auto-immune suppression, allergy to a vaccine, cancer at an early age, etc. and who can’t be vaccinated who are then protected by everyone else being vaccinated. How would you feel if you found a friend’s child died or was severely ill from a vaccine-able disease that your child had mildly and gave it to that child because you chose not to vaccinate? It doesn’t matter however healthy your child is, a body gets sick when it encounters a bacteria/virus that it hasn’t before. Sometimes we don’t even notice that our body is throwing one off us, and sometimes we get really sick, some of the symptoms is our body fighting off the disease. A vaccine gives such a small amount of that virus/bacteria nowadays but that microscopic amount allows our bodies to recognise and fight off that disease when we encounter it again. I believe one of the diseases in the MMR jab is derived form a single fetus that was miscarried due to the disease in the 60’s. 1 lost life from disease has saved millions from the same fate.

    By the age of 2 a baby has received 5 times the amount of aluminum in breast milk and 10 times the amount in formula as they get from all the vaccines (not sure which country, possibly the UK or the US) they have been scheduled for by that age. The benefits for an individual and society far outweigh the risks. None of the anti-vaccine articles and websites can back up their claims through research or any evidence-based studies. The link with MMR and autism has been soundly debunked and the doctor who did the research has been struck off the medical register in the UK for that particular piece of flawed and skewed “research” – he was being paid by a pharmacutical company that made the single vaccines and wanted to discredit the MMR.

    • bellissimom says:

      Very interesting points to consider. I had not considered the points you make in your first paragraph much before but it is something important to think about.

  6. bellissimom says:

    We were just having a conversation with one of my hubby’s coworkers about this today. She has never had a vaccination and she is an adult. She just had a child and she is vaccinating her baby but a little behind the suggested schedule of doing so.

    I am a very “crunchy” aka hippy type and we are opting to vaccinate our son even though I thought would be against it before we had him. My reason for doing so is that I want him to be able to go to school and particiapte in activities that he might not otherwise be able to because schools are starting to not allow unvaccinated children to enroll because of the fear they might cause diseases/illnesses to come back.

    Also, my very uneducated guess based on pure speculation about the increase in autism is that we are exposed to so MANY chemicals through food, cleaning products, the environment, etc and this is the cause rather than vaccinations. But, who knows…

  7. Odd mom out but we went from selectively vaccinating to none at all. I feel that for our family, we do not believe the risks outweighs the so-called benefits of vaccinating “against” diseases. In a short summary, I cannot knowingly inject my child with unknown toxins and after reading the inserts, I was very uncomfortable. I believe in natural immunity.

    • mrsdressup says:

      There is no such thing as natural immunity to diseases that there are vaccines for. if someone isn’t vaccinated and is exposed to it is pure luck if you don’t get it. tinystepsbigjourney – there is no automatic vaccine for chicken pox in the uk unless you are immuno-suppressed. flu has to be done every year but there is no guarantee you won’t get a different strain.

      In Steiner School communities most children are not vaccinated and measles is a huge problem, but hey, if you believe in anthroposophy, it was your child’s karma to die from it. If you send your child there because its PR has convinced you to then and your child dies from a disease because another child wasn’t vaccinated – what would you feel?

      The benefits of vaccinations outweigh the risks – no one dies (or rarely) in the western world of TB or polio, to name 2. do some research about what it was like to have either disease and they were only stopped when enough people were vaccinated against them.

  8. tinystepsbigjourney says:

    I’ve given the wee one hers. But there are three that I’m declining. Chicken pox, Flu, and HPV. Two because there really has not been enough testing done regarding them. And the Flu because I’ve never agreed with it. It vaccinated you only with the x flu. When it could be y flu that is floating around.
    But who knows my tune could change. I wasn’t going to get her any before she was born

  9. Jennifer Akossi says:

    I understand the attraction of not vaccinating a child and seriously looked into. However I struggle with the possibility that some families are allowed the “luxury” of not vaccinating because the majority of families choose to. So some endure the risks while others reap the benefits. I’m all for selective & delayed vaccines, but can’t make the jump out of a sense of responsibility to the community I’m a part of. I lived in the Ivory Coast for several years and witnessed children suffer from these childhood deseases. If we all chose to not vaccinate, what would happen?

    On a slightly different note I’ll say I’m a bit annoyed because our 3 children were fully vaccinated on schedule and last month all three of them got the chicken pox! 🙂 Made me question whether or not that vaccine was worth it. However, the girls got a pretty bad case and without the vaccine it would have been worse. And it was because of the bad cases that they now recommend the vaccine.

    I doubt we will do any more flu shots or the HPV.

  10. mrsdressup says:

    Thee are some families who choose not to because everyone else they know does and they figure the odds of their child catching something and getting really sick or dying is very low. What they don’t think of are ll the strangers we are around, who may be sick and not know it, and pass on a disease by sneezing and then holding the same hand-rail for example. There are some that would like to but can’t vaccinate their child for health reasons and for those children + the health and safety for your own that everyone possible should be vaccinated.

    Vaccinations save lives. End of. Smallpox was eradicated completely because of vaccination. Polio and TB are almost eradicated and that’s why no one gets vaccinated for TB now – and yes, modern anti-biotics do treat TB, but it still leaves scars on lungs.

  11. We’ve vaccinated all of our children and will continue to do so. Like many others have said, the benefit of being vaccinated outweighs the risk of getting these highly infectious diseases.

    The blood tests I had while pregnant with my second child showed that I was not immune to measles. If I had contracted this while pregnant it could have harmed my son but as I was pregnant I was unable to have the vaccine. The vaccination target of 95% is not reached in my area so I’m thankful that I didn’t come into contact with anyone carrying measles!

  12. My son just got his 2 month vaccines and there is no question that he will get all of them because : 1) I don’t want him to get sick. 2) For the vaccines to “work”, a very high percentage of the population has to get them or they are useless. Then the illness comes back. 3) Some doctors refuse treatment for unvaccinated children because their visits put very young babies at risk to get sick.
    Personnally, I would not be comfortable if my son had to hang around unvaccinated children.

  13. Sigh. I really think the anti-vaxxers have a lot to answer for to spread fear in parents. As if we don’t have enough to worry about, now we challenge WHO, paediatricians and neonatal ICU nurses and doctors. These same people fight to keep very sick babies alive all recommend and use vaccinations. This is a good website to debunk the myths around vaccinations http://www.mamamia.com.au/news/vaccination-myths-busted-by-science-cheat-sheet-on-immunisation/

  14. fivehazelnuts says:

    We vaccinate. I don’t like arguing about it…but I feel that it will protect my children. Also, it helps stop the spread of diseases…thus protecting other children!
    Anyway…I really just wanted to say that your daughter is LOVELY! Wow. Such a beauty. And thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂
    P.S. I have a B.A. in French. Should use it more often!

  15. We vaccinated but on a delayed schedule. My 2.5 year old now has just one more shot left before he’s all caught up. Our doctor was very understanding and never made us feel terrible, and she helped educate us on the pros and cons. I felt like doing it a little bit at a time was fine for us while still allowing him to have his immunities.

Leave a reply.

