You’re a Hypocondriac or My Pregnancy Test Story

I don’t know about you but I have been seeing a lot of pregnant people, and I have about four pregnant friends this year! It is funny because although I am not part of their club anymore, I feel very close to them. I still feel pregnant in some ways…my baby is a big girl now but it seems to me like I gave birth yesterday.

I remember last year in February, I was working at a nursery school and I thought I had a stomach bug or something more serious. I phoned my mother and said: “Mum, I am either pregnant or deadly sick!” I waited for another two weeks and bought a pregnancy test, the Clearblue brand as I didn’t think I could handle the lines and needed a response right away. I remember getting it in the store while running errands with my husband, and not mentioning anything to him. Unfortunately, the cashier wasn’t very delicate and almost threw the test at him!He said I was a hypocondriac!

I took the test that night to find out one second later (and not in just two minutes) that I was pregnant 3+ weeks! I was in shock! We wanted this baby very much but I never thought it’d work so well, the first time! I stayed right there, without moving, staring at it, with a racing mind, and a hand over my mouth…I put myself together and called my husband who was sitting in the living room, and showed him the test without a word! He lifted his arms up in the air, happy, excited and waited for me to say something.

We talked, and dreamed about this little human being we were soon to be parenting and fell asleep happy. I did another test in the morning before going to work, just to make sure. I was extremely nervous about the results this time as the idea of a baby-us was already so real to us. Again, First Response said “yes”.

I started feeling dizzy and nauseous that day. My husband brought me vitamins and What To Expect When You’Re Expecting after work. I thought it was a very thoughtful, love-ful shall I say, attention. The following day, I threw up for the first time, almost happy, as if getting sick was a proof of my pregnancy. To think it lasted 9 months!

I love reminiscing about that day who changed everything. I love to think about how little Sixtine was at that time and how excited we were, keeping this little secret of ours.

I would absolutely love for you to share your “I am pregnant!” stories with me!

Comments

  1. I almost immediately realized something was different and took a test before my period was due. It came out positive as did the second one I took two days later! Although we had planned it, we were initially shocked cos like you it seemed to have ‘worked’ immediately lol! It was a beautiful episode 🙂

  2. mymyblue says:

    OMG, I took exactly the same test, the clearblue one for blonds! LOL, and just like you I literally only had time to put it down and it immediatly showed me ” enceinte – 3+ ” . By the way, I love that you Canadian test has both the English and the French!
    It was early morning on the 31st of December 2008: talk about a New Year’s eve to remember! I went back to bed and whispered at my husband’s ears “I just pied on the stick and it says pregnant 3+”. I had to repeat it a second time because he thought he was dreaming still… Then he gave me a giant hug and was very happy!

  3. I loved this post, thank you for sharing! My husband and I are in the trying stage hope it happens soon!! Xx

  4. That’s a very lovely story! When I learnt you were pregnant, I was amazed and speechless at the same time!

  5. I can’t wait to have a story like this of my own. I can feel your excitement just by reading this!

Leave a reply.

