How Do You Find Time To…

My life is nothing like it used to be since the arrival of our baby. And it is a good thing. I have been tagged by Rachael, over Little Red Farm to do a “meme” (what does that word ever mean anyway?!). I never answer memes because it isn’t really my thing but I will do for her. She has a lovely blog you should check out by the way!

So….how do I find the time to….

Do the laundry – Good question. It is easy to run the wash, the hardest part is the folding and putting away process! When Sixtine was under 6 months old, the laundry was crazy! She was suffering from reflux and both her clothes and mine had to be changed two or three times a day (I have to confess that I was more likely to change her clothes and keep my spat up on shirts or pants on! Who cares?!)

 Write a blog post – I write mostly when baby sleeps and hit “save draft” or late in the evening. My family comes first but writing this blog is something I like to take the time for, it is my own little thing, I enjoy doing it and no one ever said you should stop enjoying yourself because you were now a parent. I started blogging in February and my goal was to post once a day but I haven’t been doing that for a while…Paris is too busy for me! 😉

Spend time with your other half? – My husband and I are very close and we spend as much as possible together. During the week: when he gets home we chat about our days, and he takes over with baby while I do things I wasn’t able to do during the day. I cook and we eat supper. Once that’s done, we get baby ready for bed, he reads her a story and we put her to bed. And then, the world is our oyster! On weekends: we mainly spend family time together and enjoy it fully. We have a lovely babysitter who comes over and looks after Sissi for us so we can go to dinner, the movies or anything we want to do without her. My sister-in-laws are also great babysitters (with children so even more fun for Sixtine!)

Be the parent you want to be – I try really hard. I read a lot, mainly to get informed. And I always try to understand my child’s perspective rather than “adultify” everything. It helps me a lot. ie. The teething situation. It is sometimes hard to keep calm with a baby crying what feels like 24/7…when that happens, I try to remember how much she is going through rather than thinking that she is whiny. Instead, I try to let her know how much I love her by supporting her and giving her as much attention as she needs.

Find time for yourself – Oh that! I find it hard as a stay-at-home mother. I don’t like to get ready in a rush so I always make sure to pamper myself when I know my husband can look after the baby while I do it. I used to wear make up all the time, and would never go out without my hair done…what ever happened to me!? 😉 If I have to make a confession, my husband and I have been geographically apart for two months and I am going to need a whole day to get presentable for his arrival.

I am staying in France at my mum’s and she looks after the baby sometimes so I can go out with my friends, or go to the movies. I wonder if I will ever feel OK to leave baby with someone else just because I need to get out of the house by myself.

My questions:

– Find time to read: I absolutely love reading and I haven’t read a book (that wasn’t baby or parent-related) since I had Sixtine. I really miss it…the thing is, I only read in bed or in the train. Now all I want to do in bed is sleep or spend time with my husband. And there are no trains on the island. I have just started reading French Kids Eat Everything by Karen Le Billon and although I am only a hundred-pages through, I highly recommend it!

Find time to dance: I dance in the shower, for my daughter, and my husband. But I don’t dance enough…I miss dancing. I think I will sign up for a dance class in September. I owe it to myself.

– Achieve your goals and dreams: I want to be the best woman I can be for my daughter. All she needs is happy parents that love her. I give myself the time to think of what to do to improve myself as a person.

Now for the tagging! I chose Bellissimom, An Everyday Story, Debut Dad and Mum of Three Boys.

So for the people that I have just tagged here are the (new) rules:

  1. Please post the rules
  2. When answering the questions, give as much information as possible.
  3. Leave a comment on Sex, drugs, rocker…and stroller,baby. This is so we can keep track of the Meme and take a polite nose into everyone else’s lives.
  4. Tag 3 or more people and link to them on your blog. Add new questions, delete old questions and play about with the rules.
Comments

  1. Interesting to read- it is good that you take the time to spend with yourself and your husband. You need to take care of yourself before you can take care of anyone else. A better you is a better mother!

  2. bellissimom says:

    Thanks Deb! I will answer your questions tomorrow and post my questions.

    I love reading your experiences as a mom. Reading is something I have been missing so much since I had Max. Glad to know I am not the only person who has ended up only reading parenting books since the baby came. It is hard to find time to read anything else!

  3. Great answers to some brilliant questions. I haven’t gone dancing for about 10 years now, I do dance with the boys in the front room lol and don’t get me started on the laundry which I must dash off now and do! X

Leave a reply.

