Father’s Day Craft: Grass Head Family!

We will be celebrating Father’s Day for the first time this year, and I have planned a couple surprises for my husband. Just before I gave birth, my mother offered him a shirt that said ” I am Sixtine’s dad” and he wore it at the hospital. He still loves this shirt and it has a very sentimental value to us.

I decided to have a one done for Sixtine. I bought a bright pink long-sleeved onesie from Petit Bateau and went to L’Antisèche to have it printed. I asked them to write “I am Jason’s girl” on it and it looks really cute. I am sure that he will love it.

But that wasn’t it, I also decided to make our family into Grass Head Guys, idea I got from Family Fun magazine.

Materials
  • 2 tablespoons grass seed
  • Nylon stocking foot
  • 1 cup potting soil
  • Plastic yogurt container
  • Water
  • 2 googly eyes
  • Permanent marker
  • Double-sided tape
  • Card stock, craft foam, and so on, for clothing
Instructions
  1. Spoon the grass seed into the stocking foot, and the potting soil on top of the seed. Tie a knot in the stocking, leaving the excess fabric hanging. Fill a yogurt container halfway with water and place the stocking head on top with the nylon tail in the water to serve as a wick. Attach googly eyes to the head and draw on a mouth with permanent marker. To decorate the yogurt container, tape on clothing made from card stock or other materials.Next time I make those, I will draw the mouth BEFORE putting it in the water as it makes it really hard when it is wet.I didn’t use yoghurt containers but plastic cups instead, if you do so, make sure that your guy’s head is big enough! It usually takes between 3 to 5 days before the hair starts growing! 
Tips:

Be sure to check the water level in the yogurt container every day, keeping it at least half full.

Finally, I decided to paint a wooden tray with Sixtine handprints to hold those three little guys!

How will you celebrate Father’s day today? Did you make or get anything nice? Have fun everyone!

Leave a reply.

