Why I Wanted Our Baby To Be A Girl

I have recently come to the conclusion that wanting a baby girl because they are quiet, calm and sweet wasn’t very accurate. It appears that, as she develops her own personality, my daughter is a real active, fearless girl and I am starting to think…Will she want to go to ballerina classes? Those were my plans for her! She doesn’t take her fearlessness after me as I have always been considered as a “delicate flower”, a very girlie girl. My husband must be over-the-moon excited as he gets 2 for the price of one! “She may enjoy playing hockey”, he even said. Uh, no. Dance, and er..art, and if you really insist maybe figure skating.

Obviously, I love my daughter the way she is and won’t force her to do anything but I am hoping that we will get to share some things together. I am so happy that she is a smart, happy, social, full of life, and risk-taker type of person! I mean I wouldn’t dive off a bed like she does. I know she is only little and she will sure grow and change but she is starting to show us who she is and I love it!

When I first became pregnant, my only wish was to have a healthy pregnancy, delivery and baby. And then, as the pregnancy evolved I started to wish (more or less secretly) that we were expecting a girl. My dad kept saying “It’s a boy, it has to be boy. Nature will make things right…”. He meant balance things up a little bit as he is the father of four girls! And I felt it was a girl but waited until the day it was confirmed: “You are expecting a girl”! It was such a beautiful day.

We were ecstatic and then, after a bit, I felt a little sad for the baby boy we also envisioned and dreamed of…I think we won’t make the same mistake again (talking about two distinct babies – a boy and a girl) and will just talk about “baby” until we find out what baby is as it was really sad to think about that boy we already loved yet didn’t exist in real life.

Some of you may have requested to know the gender of their baby, some others may have waited for it to be a surprise…I was one of those mamas counting down the days to gender revelation day. You should have seen my face! I guess we all have our reasons for wanting a specific gender, or not wanting to know. I was glad we got to know as it helped prepared myself mentally…I think it would have taken me a few weeks to get over the fact that we weren’t having a girl. Don’t take me wrong though. Children are blessings and I would love a baby boy just as I love my baby girl, but some of us can’t help but wish for one or the other. I think I always felt like I would be a mama’s girl. Growing up in a family of 6 including 5 ladies, I never really had close friends that were boys, and I always wanted to have a daughter.

Now, if we were to have another baby some day, I know my husband would love to have a boy and I have to say that I would love to have a baby sister for my daughter but would be just as happy to have a boy, now that the girl box has been ticked!

I would love to hear your thoughts on baby gender! Did you find out the sex of your baby during your pregnancy or did you want the surprise? Why? 

Comments

  1. I did find out the gender for our son Judah 🙂 I was surprised because I was so sick during my pregnancy and we swore we were going to have a girl, Scotts entire family thought we were going to have one, but deep in my heart I wanted a boy, I had a boys name picked out for 5 years before I even knew my husband but can’t figure out a girls name. So when the tech showed us we were having a boy I cried, not because I was upset but because my heart was filled with so much joy. Judah totally acts like a boy! He climbs on thinks, tries to skateboard EVERYTHING including his cars and trucks (he is only 19 months) he loves trucks, dogs and is full of energy. He is a feisty little boy. But I actually think he gets his energy/feistiness from me 🙂

    • Too sweet of a story! I was the same on the name thing. I always had a million names for a girl but none for boys. Which is why I am already starting to collect name ideas for boys (I already have enough girls names left haha) in case we do end up having another baby! Thank you for sharing x

  2. And it felt so natural to hear that you expected a baby girl .. 🙂 this is a family business ah ah

  3. Your daughter is absolutely gorgeous! Such a cutie 🙂
    We didn’t find out for my daughter, we wanted to keep the surprise until the day she was born. Neither of us had a preference for boy or girl but we’d had a girl’s name picked out for ages and were struggling with a boy’s name so we should have known this was a sign. Thinking about it now, I don’t know how I managed to be so patient and wait so long to know, hehe.
    For my son, I wanted to find out for practical reasons (if we were having a boy we’d have to get a whole new set of clothes) but my husband didn’t. When we went for the scan though and he saw our baby on the screen, he changed his mind. It was great to know in advance the second time around, we were able to get organised before the birth.
    I’m really glad we’ve got both boy and girl. Miss P is such a daddy’s girl and E is already a real mama’s boy. It’s all evened out 🙂

  4. Lauren James says:

    I wanted and got a girl first, wanted and got a boy second, wanted and got a healthy baby (who is a boy) last but he did give us a scare! I found out on all three which is what I wanted, but I wouldn’t have had a choice as it was rather obvious 😉
    Sixtine will find her own way, she could be a tomboy or a ballerina no matter what anyone else does. Take her fearlessness as a sign of confidence and don’t worry about the rest 🙂

  5. Patricia Chartier says:

    Like you I counted down the days and weeks until we were able to schedule an ultrasound and find out the gender. Prior to finding out I felt like I was having a girl so when they told me it was a boy and they were one million percent sure he was in fact a boy I was shocked, lost for words, just completely stunned because I was SO sure it was a girl. The first thing I said after it sunk in was “there is a little penis inside of me?”…

    When I think about it now I realize I just wanted a girl over a boy and I completely got lost in the idea of having a daughter. I never even thought about the possibility I could have a boy and up until the gender reveal day, I never thought of life with a son. It’s sad for me to think about now because I am so thankful I have my son. I love him more then anything in this world and truly feel like life never started until he was in my arms.

    The funny thing is I’ve only ever envisioned being a mom of boys, three boys to be precise and while I was busy buying stuff for my non-existent daughter it turned out everything I bought was for a boy. I think deep down I knew I would have a boy but didn’t believe it until it was real.

    Ethan is not 8 months old and he just started saying Mom. The first time he called me Mom, it brought tears to my eyes. I hope I am lucky enough to have another son 🙂

  6. bellissimom says:

    We found out the gender. I could not wait. I always thought I would have a girl because there are so many in my family. After we were told we were having a boy I realized I had never truly contemplated the fact I might have a boy! Of course I was thrilled to have a boy but it was a kind of a shock to me!

Leave a reply.

