Playing With Dough For The First Time!

Sixtine has been exploring the house (which is totally new to her perspective since she was only about 4 months when we left to Paris) for a good two weeks. Climbing, mouthing, touching, messing around and loved every minute of it. She was at first, very attracted to that little stand play table offered to her at Christmas by family members but seems to have lost interest in it. She has lost interest in pretty much all of her toys to be quite honest. What she wants is to play with grown up items, and be with Mama or Papa all the time, see what they are up to. I have come to realize that Sixtine needed a few more toys. I usually put some away for a bit and bring them back out so she does get that sense of  ‘novelty’ now and then.

I felt bad this afternoon thinking: my baby is bored. I have to find something to entertain her. First, I checked out my favorites on Etsy for Montessori toys, and then my Montessori board on Pinterest, to finally end up on how we montessori‘s website. Kylie has two boys and I have been following her adventures for a while now. I like her simple, honest writing and she is very resourceful.

I was on the look for some ideas of what she did with her son when he was between 9 and 10 months and decided to try playdough with Sixtine for the first time.

Her recipe is very easy and simple to make. It calls for 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 of water, 1/4 cup of salt, 1/2 tbsp of tartar cream, and 1/2 tbsp of cooking oil. I didn’t have tartar so I didn’t use any and it still worked beautifully.

She was extremely excited to see that ball-of-something in my hands and went right at it as soon as I put it on her tray. And put it straight to her mouth. No surprise here! She squished and squished and squished! Shivered here and there (I suppose she didn’t enjoy the salty taste of it but it didn’t stop her from doing it again!)

Results: I think she had a lot of fun. It wasn’t a long-lasting activity as I had to prevent her from eating it pretty much the whole time. I think I will try again in a few weeks time!

What are some go-to activities you do or did with your under one babies? 

Comments

  1. I can just picture the shudders! Sounds like she had fun!!

  2. Lovely. She must have really enjoyed the texture

  3. Hmmm… my son liked his treasure basket. A basket I made up of non-toy items. Stuff like sponges, silicon moulds, wooden honey spoon, lemon reamer, a square of knitted wool, measuring cups to stack… anything that was a new texture, material, or shape.

    • Thank you for your input!
      Thinking about it, I think she is just in a stage where she wants to walk really, really bad which is why she has no interest in sitting with a toy for very long. She played with her wooden items basket this morning for a bit and went off to explore again! I still think I should get her a couple more new toys and will keep changing her treasure basket every few days! She, too, enjoys playing with wooden spoons and other kitchen items!

  4. Oh yes, once they realize they can move….. toys get in the way!

    • I just wish I could help her with her walking but she seems happier cruising on furniture. I had a big long stick (it is part of a broom) and though she would like to hold it and walk with my help but she didn’t seem at ease. I guess I should let her do her own thing and not worry too much about it. She is a happy, growing baby.

      • She doesn’t need a stick to hold on to, she will walk by herself when she is ready, not before. Then you will be wishing she wasn’t yet! Move anything you don’t want her to get at higher than you think you need to. Mine figured out really quickly how to climb……….. 🙂

      • Haha! That’s too funny that you are saying that. She has been climbing for a few days now – it was precious to see her do it. But now that we know she can, we have to be more cautious!

  5. A Frog at Large says:

    I went to a birthday party where they did messy play with jello and my daughter LOVED it. Basically just make a batch of flavoured jello in a plastic tub and have her put her hands in it. It feels great and you don’t need to stop them from eating it!

    • a baby’s group here in the UK did that with crumbled up Shredded Wheat – wet & dry. I sat my son down beside it and he immediately started to eat it……. and looked at the other LO’s playing with it like they were nuts!

Leave a reply.

