5 Teeths and Biting

Oh no…Our darling daughter has now five teeths (two upper, three bottom) and has started to bite me. She bites me when she is frustrated, when she’s missed me, when she is mad at me, or when she is beyond tired and doesn’t know what to do with herself. It really hurts and I don’t understand why she would do such thing – let alone the fact that she only bites ME. Never does it to her father. I really hope it is just a phase because it really hurts my feelings. I usually say: OUCH (and it is not an act, it really hurts), then tell her that we do not bite. And then put her down or away from me. I feel that this week was the worst week of all but she has been teething pretty hard so this might be the reason why…

She also pinches my nipples (I know, right) and have started around the time we found out I was pregnant. I think she knows what is going on – my chest is much bigger than it used to be and she can probably feel the difference…

Any advice on how to improve a 10 month-old behavior? Redirecting hasn’t done anything for us so far (or it might take time until she picks up the “right behavior”) and I would like her to stop biting me!

Comments

  1. Is your daugther hungry when she bites? That is what my son does. Or try giving her a “chew” toy. Ex. I have two pairs of toys that are keys.

    • Hi Ingrid. I don’t think she is. Last time she bit me, my back was hurting so I took her to her Daddy, she didn’t want to stay with him and lifted her arms up towards me. I took her back, and she bit me in the neck. Right after dinner. Go figure! She has a million toys to choose from but I think she is teething really bad this time. She’s just started biting things that are extremely hard (computer screen!!, wood basket,…) I call her the BEAVER! Thank you for your input!

  2. I hate to say it but you have to redirect as much as you can. Try to catch her just before she goes to bite you, and don’t let her. You are too early in pregnancy to have much of a change in your breastmilk yet, but I will check….. (am a doula). The only thing that is guaranteed to stop her is to nip her yourself. I did that with my son, but he was closer to 14 months when he was biting me. Psychologists don’t know why it works (like hitting back doesn’t) as it shouldn’t but biting back does.

    • I actually don’t breastfeed anymore but I think she can sense my pregnancy. I will try to be less reactive to her behavior but it’s really hard because she usually bites me out of the blue, and does hard enough for me to stay quiet about it…Thank you for your advice!

  3. Having checked with a BF counsellor, the BM may have changed taste or flow slightly, but wont’ change much until late in pregnancy. The biting probably isn’t due to the BM changing tho, it could just be an ‘oooh look I have teeth phase’ and you are reacting to it. Try not to react at all and just move her away from you when she does it – you are making a new noise that she likes!

  4. I have no idea what you could do, apart from redirecting. My son pinches a lot and pulls huge handfuls of hair and like you, I say “Ouch!” loudly and put him down. I try to pout and make an obvious upset face too but it just looks silly ๐Ÿ˜‰

    It doesn’t make any difference, but I hope our babies both stop soon!

    As for the nipples, you’re probably right. She probably thought “Oooh, this feels different!” and is trying to get to know the new chest. I don’t remember the middle one doing this to me but he was only about 4 months old when my body started changing, and my belly changed first!

    Hope the teething calms down soon!

  5. Congrats on your pregnancy!

    Here are my two cents on Sixtine biting you when feeding. Granted – my son was a lot younger when I applied this technique – but it worked. Unfortunately I don’t remember which book it’s from so I can’t cite the reference but here is how it goes:
    – If she bites you while breastfeeding, matter-of -factly stop. Try not to scare her and don’t act as if you were punishing her.
    – If she complains and wants the breast again, offer the breast but wait a few seconds before you do so that she associates biting = no more breast.

    For the more general biting. Well. My eldest was biting too when I was pregnant with his brother. Time, a lot of attention. At my son’s daycare they practice what they call “shadowing”. They follow the biter very closely to try and prevent him from biting.

  6. Congratulations! I wonder if the same thing might be what’s happening with my son. He just bit me for the first time last weekend, with four teeth (on his 1st birthday, no less!) and I’m pretty sure I’m pregnant. I’ll find out soon for sure. But he’s been so weird lately! He starts to nurse and then he pops off, looks at the breast/nipple quizitively (sp?) and then starts back to nursing…stops and examines me again. Idk what else it could be! He’s never done this before. Oh, and when I was pregnant with him, our CAT was WEIRD around me! She sniffed me a lot (which she never did prior to me being p/g) and she would act like she was going to scratch me! Anyway, sorry, no advice, but I understand your woes!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thank you!

      Wow, well let me know when you find out! Hope that it’s a yes if that is what you want. I will have someone to go through the “back-to-back” pregnancy kind of thing ๐Ÿ˜‰

      It is so funny because just today, she touched my breast feeling for my nipple and then was on a mission to pinch it. Just when my breasts are back to being sore again. She also patted my belly a lot today – I am starting to show ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Can’t believe your cat could feel you were pregnant! That is crazy!

      • Yes, it’s a yes that we’re hoping for. I’m still breastfeeding Samuel a lot, but I’ve been regular with my cycle since he was 3.5 months (I’m the unlucky sort ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and we stopped using birth control this past month. I’ve suffered 3 early miscarriages over the years so I always wait now to test until I am two weeks late…which is tomorrow. *fingers crossed*!! Oh, and my Dad and his parents were all born in Canada (Ontario) and they moved to the states when he was around 10. So, Canada is dear to my heart since half of me is from there! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Fingers crossed for you! I felt pregnant almost right away both times and I am very regular so I only have to wait until the due date of my cycle has passed.
        I hope everything will turn out well for you this time around x

        Have you ever been to Canada?

      • Just to Windsor because I grew up in Michigan. I have lived in Georgia for 14 years now. I would love to visit PEI!! One of my favorite shows growing up was “Avonlea”. Did you ever see it?

      • I have! I even went to Anne of Green Gables musical! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love it!

      • Test this morning showed negative…I don’t know what’s up with Samuel then! ?? Well, there’s always next month. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be back to check in on ya! I hope you stop feeling so exhausted.

      • ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hope your next test will be positive! Thank you Valerie. I am over 13 weeks now so hopefully, the honeymoon phase will start kicking in soon! Have a good weekend with your family.

Leave a reply.

