Yes, We Are Expecting Again

…just for clarification. I posted a somewhat subtle picture a few weeks ago but I received an email from a friend asking if I was actually pregnant so I thought I would clarify the situation for everyone. I am currently 14 weeks+ pregnant and I am due in March.

Now, as I type, I am recovering from a fever and I have what I think is the flu so excuse me in advance if I sound harsh but I guess being up all week with a sick baby (she is perfectly fine now – I am not) and trying to survive the everyday life I have been very sensitive too many things, in particular, the questions and comments some people have been making since the announcement of my pregnancy.

  1. I know – when Sixtine was born (even during pregnancy) I said I would never be pregnant again and I only wanted one child. For whatever reasons, people seem to think it is appropriate to bring it up again. How about Congratulations, how are you feeling? instead of I thought you only wanted one! Oddly, these comments only come from one side of the Atlantic.
  2. Back-to-back pregnancies. I was pregnant not too long ago and my baby is only 11 months. We found out we were pregnant when she was 9 months old. I feel that naturally, my already stretched belly picked up where we left off pretty quickly. I posted a picture of my cute belly and received a lot of: OMG You are so big or comments along those lines. How nice!  In my defense, I would like to say that I haven’t gained a pound yet.
  3. I guess I didn’t need bullet points. I only had two main things to complain about.

I would also like to tell everyone that my house is a mess. And I have zero energy to do anything about it. It is really bad – but at the end of the day, I think if my baby is happy, entertained, fed, clean and rested, I have done an all right job.

Comments

  1. Oh! Congratulations! I had no idea! Sorry to hear you are Not feeling well…hope it gets better! And ignore ann ignorant remarks (I know! Easier said than done) its Your life, your family, YOUR decisions! It must be hard now…but Imagine how great it will be when your new baby is a bit older and close to age as Sixtine! They will be able to play and I’m sure be inseperable!!

    • Oh, hi Sabina! It has been forever! How are you and your little one? How old is she now?

      It is definitely going to be hard, I am well aware of it. I just don’t understand why bring it up again. I mean, baby is here so why talk about the fact that I only wanted one (for now anyway). I am not going to give it up so no need to mention it.

      Sixtine will be a great big sister for sure! And thank you for your kind words as always!

    • inadifferentvoice says:

      Congratulations! And mine are 4,1 and 1 and I never intend to prioritise the house! 😉

  2. I am thrilled for you, Jay and Sixtine! You make such beautiful babies that it would have been a shame to only have one! 🙂 Our place is also a mess and we don’t have any little ones around to mess it up or keep us from cleaning! Cleaning and tidying is definately overrated!! Feel better soon xx

  3. YES you are doing an all right job (and even more! Warrior mama!)

    I wish I could come and help you :/

    lots of hugs xx

  4. Fantastic! About baby 2 on its way, not the feeling sick part! That part I can also totally relate to (ugh!). Hopefully you will also get back some more energy in the coming weeks. As I type this, my 2 month old is screaming in my arms with colic 😦 but just wanted you to know that other mothers are out there rooting for you (it’s going to be great with two!!!) and I totally understand your frustration with other people’s unappreciated comments. I’m sure they mean well but perhaps are just a little clued out about what really matters! Or are even a tad jealous?! Anyway, baby will be a very welcome addition, I’m sure. And Sixtine will love being an older sister. She will learn so much from this experience. Congratulations! Ok, bye for now!

  5. Congrats!! If your baby is happy, then you should be happy- don’t worry about anything else.

  6. Congrats-Hope you start to feel better soon!

  7. AWW congratulations!!! You’re in sort of the same boat as I am! I have a 9 month old and am 12 weeks along with her little sibling! I’m looking forward to following along with your adventure! If you want to check out a fellow preggo with a toddler come see us at http://www.birminghambell.com I always love to have visitors!

  8. Lauren James (KnackeredHousewife) says:

    Well said – when I’m ill I’d rather have a messy home and happy children than the other way around.
    Hope you start to feel better soon!

  9. Congratulations! I’m so sorry people are saying dumb things to you!

  10. Congratulations! It’s incredible to me how people (women, actually) feel free to comment on another woman’s major life circumstances! We have 3 kids; 12, 8 and 1. Everyone thinks baby #3 was an “Oops!” moment. No, he was not. He was a HUGE blessing after having had multiple miscarriages. We would have spaced them closer, had WE been in control. Guess what – we’re not! Anyway, why you are no longer just having one is YOUR business. Congrats! 🙂

    • Thank you Valerie. I have always wondered why some people were interested to know if you had been trying to create life or if it happened on its own. What difference does it make to them anyway?
      I say it was meant to be. I love my in utero Parisian baby very much!

  11. I know I’ve said it before but Congratulations!! :)) I hope you start feeling better soon.

    I think the bullet points were absolutely necessary. 🙂

  12. notmyyearoff says:

    Congratulations 🙂

  13. I’m delighted for you! Well done and congratulations on your little Parisian present! Xx

  14. Congratulations x x

  15. Congrats!!! I hadn’t read this yet when I made my comment about our trip to France for cheap formula, haha! Love that you noted that your house is a mess. That’s a good thing… it means you’ve been spending lots of time with your little one and kicking your cold. I hope you’re feeling better!

    • Thank you!

      Just read your comment on your blog! Haha!
      Well, I guess you have to catch up quick I am almost 16 weeks! Come on Meghan!

      We are all feeling better thank you. The house is slightly better but not guest friendly. Oh well.

      • oh dear… 16 weeks? No way I’m catching up! We won’t be going for #2 for a few years… good luck with your little one on the way!

Leave a reply.

