Random Short Story: People Who Make Your Heart Melt

A few months ago, as my husband and I were waiting to have our daughter get checked at the Public Health Center, I met a girl. She too,was in the waiting room with her husband and daughter. Her baby girl looked just a tiny older than ours but the reason they caught my attention is that she spoke French to her. French French. My kind of French. I had to find out why, how, where etc and started a conversation. I found out she was from France, and that her husband was an islander, just like mine and she had arrived to Canada the same way I had, with a Work Holiday Visa. She was really nice and talking French made me feel like home for a few minutes. We happened to bump into each other at the exact same day a few more times. And we became friends.

We were supposed to hang out this weekend but I had to phone and cancel because I was sick. She probably felt how awful I was feeling. And just like that, she offered to take Sixtine for a few hours so I could rest. It made me very emotional but mostly, I felt very grateful. We haven’t known each other that well but I value her friendship very much. They are people like that who make your heart melt.

She doesn’t even know I have a blog but I wanted to share this with you.

Edit: I would like to add that there are other people in my life that would deserve a random short story and have made my life much easier during this pregnancy. You know who you are! Love x

Comments

  1. bellissimom says:

    It is neat to meet someone that you have such an instant connection with!

  2. Lauren James (KnackeredHousewife) says:

    It’s wonderful having friends like that. My friend from the school run is the same, minus the French.

  3. What a beautiful story. And above all, I am so happy for you that you got some help because I know it’s not easy 🙂 I would love to look after Sissi xxxx

  4. Lovely story! I think it’s a good thing to have a friend who knows what you’re getting through just like you.

  5. what a lovely story! it sounds like friendship destiny to me. And i hope you feel better soon.

Leave a reply.

