Why Is It So Hard To Name Your Baby

I mean, seriously. It was fairly quick and easy the first time around. We agreed on a name very early on the pregnancy and were happy with it. Now, I don’t know if it is because we have had some scares at the beginning of the pregnancy, or if it is because I have a strong feeling it is a boy and never really prepared for it, but we can’t agree on a name.

I know, it is still early. I am 15 weeks+ and we won’t find out the gender of our baby until the 26th but still, I am really surprised about the fact that we haven’t set our hearts on a name yet. I have three girls names in mind and my husband likes two of them. But as far as the boy department is concerned, we are so not agreeing. I don’t know what it is.

Sixtine may sound like a number but at least, it is easily pronounced by both French and English-speaking people. We love our daughter’s name so much that we are finding it hard to top it. Unique and classic French boy names aren’t as pretty. Being a bi-cultural couple doesn’t help too much either as we have to make sure it works for both of our worlds!

Naming a baby should be a fun, exciting process in my opinion. Right now, it sounds more like: “How about XX?”…”Ermm…nah. But what about XX?” “Seriously?”. Anyway, you get the picture!

I guess it will get easier once we find out if we are expecting a girl or a boy. Let’s hope for a girl so that we don’t end up naming our child “no-name’.

Comments

  1. I know what you mean. It was so hard to come up with a boy name. The name is such a big decision- completely stressed me out! Good luck!

  2. I completely understand. My husband is Hispanic and has a very Hispanic name: Juan Vidal Ortiz..

    We both agreed that we didn’t necessarily want a Hispanic name, but we didn’t want it to be too American either. Our little one needed a bit of both.

    My husband decided on Elijah for a boy. I pointed out that there was no “j” sound in Spanish. He didn’t care. He had already landed on the name. So, our Hispanic side of the family calls him Elias (Elijah in spanish).

    Girls names are way easier to make flow with both cultures.

  3. but if you have a little boy you can name him Sailor!!! (a mama in a blog I follow has just had a boy and named him Sailor Rhodes ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Good luck, Bibie! i think it’ll be easier when you’ll know whether it’s a girl or a boy. It’ll become real ^^

  5. Use the Internet. That is how we found our names. Boys names are not easy for us. I wanted Nico. Nope, my husband hated it. I looked at French, German and North American websites of children names. Good luck.

    • That’s what we have been using as well. It is funny how hard it can be – I mean I had a pretty long list by the age of 15…not sure where that list is and I am pretty sure my style has changed. hehe
      I have checked Icelandic/Scandinavians sites, as well as Irish…on top of the French and the English/American ones. Will keep looking. Thanks!

  6. bellissimom says:

    We had such a hard time with boy names. We had a long list of names we did not want before we came up with a couple we did like. Good luck!

  7. MommaExpat says:

    I use to look in the credits of movies to come up with new name ideas. =)

  8. Funny enough, it took us about 20 minutes to agree on a name for baby boy Mark Floyd! We both loved that name and it works in French and English (and can be pronounced in Chinese too, we are a multicultural family). No arguments either. Lucky us I guess! We didn’t want to know the sex of the baby so we also had a baby girl name ready.

    • 20 minutes, wow! It is a really cute name ๐Ÿ™‚

      We actually found out we were expecting a girl a month ago and a name came up right out of the ultrasound roomand we are very happy with it. We are keeping it a secret until the birth so people won’t give us their opinion on it! Haha

Leave a reply.

