Toddler Practical Life Activities

IMG_3170fIMG_3163 IMG_3166 IMG_3195f

IMG_3190iIMG_3228u IMG_3233


IMG_3240iIMG_3243iIMG_3251hIMG_3253iIMG_3254k

Sixtine showed a lot of interest in all these activities this week. She absolutely loves playing with water but more importantly, she likes the independence they provided. She expressed so much happiness and excitement while doing them.

I love observing her as she concentrates to reach “perfection” and tries and tries again. I did not have to ask her to clean after herself. I simply made a cloth available for her and she naturally used it to sponge the water.

As you can see, I used various objects with their own particularities and challenges. She did unbelievably well with the black spoon. I felt that it may not be the best object as I thought it would probably be too difficult but she actually did great. We used styrofoam balls (they are great little floating machines 😉 and ice cubes (she loved them so much that she ate a couple – however, I felt that it proved a little challenging for her to scoop – they would slide off the spoon and she eventually had to use her hands.)

Inspiration: Books. Internet. Pinterest. Yoghurt container idea: Racheous. I am also an unconditional “fan” of howwemontessori.

I am always looking for new activities to try with her – so feel free to link any related blog post in your comment and I will be happy to check it out! Thank you.

Comments

  1. Such sweet pics you got of her working. Love the concentration! How did she find the dropper?

  2. Wow! This is great! I love the wonderful photos! It’s such an amazing feeling watching kids playing and doing things on their own. I love it. 🙂

Leave a reply.

