Toddler Cooking: Chocolate Zucchini Bread

zucchiniIMG_3521IMG_3507fIMG_3519hIMG_3523d IMG_3528g

loaf

This is by far one of the best breads I have ever had. Sixtine and I had fun making it – fewer pictures this time as it was a lot messier and I feared my camera would get damaged in the process! We made it for Daddy who was coming home that night. There was a lot of cute moments: Sixtine pouring one large egg in the bowl and the other egg on her apron. “Oh, oh” she said, or when she thought the chocolate chips shouldn’t go in with the other dry ingredients and decided to keep them for eating. She had never had them so I am not sure how she knew they’d be yummy but she had (quite) a few until I was able to explain they were going IN the bowl not in her tummy. I also love the fact that this recipe includes 1 1/2 cup of zucchini, a vegetable that Sixtine wouldn’t eat on a regular basis.

Ingredients + recipe:

1 1/2 cups (360 ml/225 grams) shredded raw zucchini (courgette)

1 cup (130 grams) all-purpose flour

1/2 cup (45 grams) unsweetened natural cocoa powder, sifted

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder 

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)

3/4 cup (180 ml) semi sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips (we used bittersweet)

2 large eggs (half of it ended up on Sixtine’s apron and it still tasted yummy!)

1/2 cup (120 ml) vegetable, safflower, corn, or canola oil (we used melted butter)

1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated white sugar 

1/2 cup (105 grams) firmly packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Recipe:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) and grease your loaf pan.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients and add chocolate chips.
  • In another large bowl, whisk eggs, add oil, sugars, vanila and whisk again.
  • Fold in the zucchini, and fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients.
  • Bake for about 55 to 65 minutes.
  • Makes one loaf and can be frozen.

Recipe adapted from Joy of baking, our go-to baking website!

Comments

  1. What a great idea.
    Is it poasibleto make without the chocolate chips ?
    Thia silly country i live doesnt sell chocolate chips having them shipped from the uk is just way to expensive.

    • Of course! The chocolate chips are optional and Sixtine ate half of them anyway! If you really wanted to have chocolate bits in your loaf, you could always buy a chocolate bar and cut it in small pieces! It would be just as good and this is what I do when I make chocolate chip cookies! Try the recipe and let me know how it turned out!

      • I gave this loaf a try today. I didn’t have enough coco so I used dark chocolate I had in the fridge chopped.
        It came out ok. An interesting taste. Not one I’ve tasted before, I’ve ate three slices and still can’t work out if I like it or not. 🙂 I’ll give it another go when I have coco and see if it taste different.

      • Oh really? So odd – I absolutely loved it and my daughter and husband as well (they are picky eaters!). Is it a texture thing or the actual taste?

Leave a reply.

