Toddler Practical Life: Food Preparation

snackprepI want to give Sixtine as much independence as possible. At almost two, doing things for herself is something she craves for. She absolutely loves to watch me cook, and help whenever possible. And so today, I decided to let her use her child-sized knife to make her own snack. She was very excited to spread cream cheese on a piece of bread, and pour water in her glass. She hasn’t mastered spreading in one session but it will come! She has been a wonderful help in the kitchen, making cakes, muffins, and breads, husking corn, and brushing potatoes and carrots! I hope that these will be memories that will last! How proud she was to serve me a snack that she had made herself!

Comments

  1. She’s getting so grown up! I try to do the same with my little man – they get so excited when they’ve achieved their goal! We’ve not quite got there with pouring – tend to make a lovely mess!

  2. Oh, I love this series of photos I can’t wait to do this with my little one – anything that has to do with food is always a hit!

Leave a reply.

