Make Your Own Fall Colored and Scented Play Dough

dough

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 cup of salt
  • 2 cups of water
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon juice (or 1 tablespoon of cream of tartar)
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice
  • food coloring (or any homemade vegetable/fruit juice)

Recipe:

  • Whisk together all the ingredients in a pan
  • Cook over stove on medium heat
  • Remove when the mix starts to harden
  • Stir until ball starts to form
  • Knead dough
  • Separate into different bowls and add food coloring
  • And voila!
  • Ziplock bags will keep them nice and fresh
  • You can also freeze them

I am very happy with the final result! I suggest using more spices than I did for greater smell but I only had cinnamon and it wasn’t very strong. Sixtine couldn’t care less but I would love to see how yours turned out! Oh, and one last tip, to prevent food coloring from staining your hands, I suggest oiling them a little bit.

Recipe adapted from pinterest !

If you are new here, welcome to Sixtine et Victoire! Why not join us on FacebookTwitterPinterestInstagram, or Etsy – whatever your heart desires!

Comments

  1. journey2dfuture says:

    Even without the food colouring it sounds great. I might give this a go.. a new texture for.the boy to play with. More than likely he will attempt to eat it.

  2. Love the pumpkin pie spice idea to add to the senses 🙂

  3. The most gorgeous playdough I’ve ever seen! I’m going to try this with Elise. Did you use food coloring or juice?

    • Well, thank you! I used food coloring as I did this on a last minute type of thing and didn’t have all the ingredients. My friend suggested this on my FB page: “scented play dough in the past by boiling down berries to create naturally colored and scented dye – raspberries made a nice rich pink and smelled divine and blueberries made a bluish purple. Turmeric (boiled down in water to create a dye) creates a nice fall yellow color (not much of a scent, but adding the pumpkin pie spice to it would create a nice smell) and we have used cocoa powder to achieve a nice chocolate brown.” Can’t wait to see your master piece!

Leave a reply.