Baby Led Weaning…Baby what ?!

Up until a few days ago, I had no idea what Baby Led Weaning was. Luckily, couple other momma bloggers suggested it as a way of introducing solid food for my baby.

So what is Baby Led Weaning?

Based on a paper written by Gill Rapley, Baby Led Weaning just means letting your child feed themselves from the very start of weaning.

According to the most recent research most babies reach for food at around six months, which is also the time that mothers are being encouraged to wean by their Health Visitors, in accordance with the WHO guidelines.

The distinct advantage of weaning at around six months is that by then, our children are developmentally capable of feeding themselves proper food, in other words – no more mush!

You just hand them the food in a suitably-sized piece and if they like it they eat it and if they don’t they won’t. (But they do, really they do… check out the baby with the pork chop).

That’s the essence of Baby Led Weaning. No purees, no ice cube trays, no food processor, no potato masher, no baby rice, no weird fruit and veg combos… just you and your child, eating food that you enjoy with you and your family.

Read more here: http://www.babyledweaning.com/

You can also buy the book:  “Baby-led Weaning: Helping Your Baby to Love Good Food” by Gill Rapley” as well as the cook book or;

Register to the forum here: http://www.babyledweaning.com/forum/

There is also an interesting of tricks and tips that you can find here: http://www.babyledweaning.com/some-tips-to-get-you-started/

I don’t know if we’ll go for it or not but I am definitely interested. I would like to purchase the book and do some more research but BLW makes a lot of sense to me.

So thank you ladies !

Did you know about Baby Led Weaning? What do you think of it? Have you experienced it? Any tips for first-timers? Please share !

 

Comments

  1. I gave my baby a pickle today. He made a funny face at first, but then he started to like it and sucked on it in place of his hands. I decided to take it away after a few seconds since I don’t want him to prefer pickle juice to my milk. 😉

  2. Allo ma belle Deborah!
    I’ve dipped my toes into baby led weaning… Martin’s had bananas, pears and carrots. He gags a bit but coughs the food back out and gums at it some more! I’m loving the experience so far! I tried giving him mushy bananas and he gagged and turned his head the entire time. My guy would much sooner gum and chew than swallow mush! 🙂
    Patrica

  3. I’ve tried mixed approach with my 13 month old when he started eating solids at 6 months. I gave him baby cereals and pureed fruit (that would’ve been difficult to swallow without being pureed), but also allowed him to feed himself small pieces of soft food.

    He loves the independence of self-feeding and it gives his self-esteem a healthy boost! He was obviously inspired by watching his older siblings (aged 3 and 5) feed themselves. At his 12 month old birthday, he got his favourite food: roast chicken drumstick!

Leave a reply.

